Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Dialed vs. Dialled 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwbMitel

Technical User
Oct 11, 2005
CA
I work in the phone industry and I am constantly writing the word dialled.

Auto-corrects cannot agree on the correct spelling.

My investigations indicate the primAry difference to be American vs. British English. I reside in Canada so British English is more widely used(at least where I am).

My business card reads "Dialed into your business"

This bothers me but I don't want to be a jerk in pointing it out unless I have a good reason.

Does anyone have any insights for me?

What's most important is that you realise ... There is no spoon.

Is it color or colour?

Same difference?

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my old subtlety...
for a NUANCE![tongue][/sub]

I use colour, flavour, honour, etc

So yes, there is a difference

So what's the difference between color and colour, apart from the spelling?

Skip,
[sub]

It's the audience. If I spell it as color in a forum such as this, no difference. If I put it on my business card, it says something about my preferences to my business associates

There are anti-American attitudes that I would prefer to avoid. Granted, the majority would not be aware of the difference in this case

Can't help with Dialed/Dialled - 'connected' doesn't have the same connotation. but for Color/Colour, how about 'hue' as a neutral substitute ?

Fred Wagner

Ah. The Ugly American perception.

Where ARE all those examples US imperialist aggerssion?

I guess that this world is at the worse, for the US of A.

Skip,
[sub]

==> This bothers me ...
==> I use colour, flavour, honour, etc So yes, there is a difference