Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What to do about pesstimistic boss(CEO) 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karl Blessing

Programmer
Feb 25, 2000
US
I'm in a very small software company (bout 5 employees, James(CEO), Ranee(CEO's wife, and Customer Service Rep), Josh(VP & developer), Shavonne(developer), and me Karl( Programmer/Analyst according to my title)<br><br>I'm the newest employee by about 6 months now. <br>right now I am studying for Visual Interdev 6 certification, the only main reference used is Master Web applications with visual interdev 6, and I just taken the cert exam today, which i failed by 50 points, he's going to have me take it again next week, but throught out the month, his additued takes any small thing, and turned it into a big negative thing againts himself, for example today, I am leaving 15 Mins earlier than I normally do (but its also leaving 15 mins later than the core hours required) says I'm leaving early, and I said yes, but he start saying that then I dont feel that there is anything more I need to learn then, and I should consider even comming in tomarrow, If i feel i dont think I can learn any more, all this over planning on leaving the office 15 mins early, and I walk to and from work, 30 min walk.&nbsp;&nbsp;There has been several other events like this, in which I never talked back, and always tried to avoid confrontations. Is there any tips to work around or avoid these type of bosses.<br><br>(another thing is I am the only employee that knows VC++, and has used more development tools together than the other staffs, according to rannee I learn as fast as the technology moves, in otherwords, I'm the only one that goes out learns the ma