Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

So, What's your biggest weakness? 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

DTSMAN

Technical User
Mar 24, 2003
US
I have been interviewing for 6 months straight now. I have now determined I have to study-up on the question, "What is your biggest weakness?" from interviewers. I have an interview on Thursday that really has my interest. I have studied their comapany history and the product I will be installing and supporting. The job has my name all over it and I know for a fact that I have a 1 in 5 chance because I asked how many where scheduled for second interviews from the staffing agency. It is a direct-hire position.

I'm killing myself on this weakness question in every interview. So now I have Googled it, studied it, and for some reason no more wiser on what to say.

Research says:
Don't state a weakeness directly related to the position.
Don't make a joke.
Dont' try a make a strength into a weakness.
etc...

I will try and be honest, but what do you guys see as the correct path for preparedness?

Bo

Remember,
If the women don't find you handsome,
they should at least find you handy.
(Red Green)

I have a really good friend who works in HR. Her answer to this was to find something that might be a weakness, and then explain a situation when you exhibited this weakness as a strength.

So, for example.

My weakness is to be overly competetive in situations. WShy. only last month I .... installed something / fixed something.... in much less time than this had previously taken, purely because my boss believed it would take twice as long, and I felt I had to prove I could achieve this.

This is not a great example, but you get my drift.