Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Getting Handover to Unwanted Projects 11

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zoom1234

Programmer
Oct 30, 2003
BE
Hi,

I work as a Software Programmer having four years of IT experience. My areas of Interests are SUN technologies.

Now one person who work as a consultant(Who is not employee of our company, but that of a third party vendor) is leaving in two three days. The projects he has been working in our company since last 6-7 Months or so, are on ASP and ASP.NET.

Now since i had no major work in last month, The Mangement had decided that the projects should be handed over to me.

I dont have interest and strong work experince on Microsoft techologies.The company is not ready to hire another Microsoft Professional.Also currently i am working on some other project on JSP.
I am confused as what should be my stand on this issue, as somehow i am getting a feeling as they are making a scapegoat out of me.

Pls can you share any thoughts with me.

Hello Zoom,

Here are my thoughts on your situation:
1. You say you have no major work in the last month, but you are currently working on another project on JSP. Does that mean your current project is not taking 100% of your time, or is less important than the ASP projects?
2. Make sure that your management understand and accept that you have no experience with ASP. Ask if they will be giving you training - if they say NO then tell them it will take you a long time to do the work as you will have to learn as you go.

And ask them what will happen to your own project in the meantime - will you work 50% on each project?