Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

they want me to get a flu shot 12

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 13, 2016
US
I am a system administrator. I work on computers. I happen to do that work for a hospital organization and rarely leave my cubicle. I don't deal with patients or sick people. But yesterday, our manager told us he wants us all to get flu shots.

Anyone got any suggestions on how to get out of this? Flu shots are dangerous and accomplish absolutely nothing. Plus, it may react negatively with some of the alternative medicines I take. There is no reason for me to get one and no reason for them to tell me to get one.

I definitely would not advertise your thinking " Flu shots are dangerous and accomplish absolutely nothing."

Opinions are not arguments and likely to fail.

I would start with your union rep. I all likelihood, as you work in a medical environment, I would find it likely that your union has agreed to these measures and you would need a doctor to sign off on your exemption.

If you are not in a union, employment standards would apply. Again, I would find it likely that you cannot refuse except with the express permission of a doctor.

What's most important is that you realise ... There is no spoon.

I don't deal with patients or sick people.

What! You NEVER encounter ANYONE either during working hours or not during working hours?

I can sympathize with being forced to comply with some procedure that you deem unimportant. I seethed at being forced to have pee-in-the-cup random drug testing but I knew that it was either pee or get another job. Fortunately, somebody else's drug problem is not contagious.