Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Startup 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

windowsrules

IS-IT--Management
Jun 7, 2001
US
When I turn on my NT workstation 4.o machine. It goes through startup correctly but does not give me the ctr-Alt-Delete Screen to login.

Any suggestions

Thanks

Sounds like it was modified with the "Auto admin logon" option.
Are you an administrator on your machine?

Yes I am an administrator on this machine but can not get anywhere as I can not log into the machine

Oh wow - I thought you could login, but just were never prompted for it. Is this a new install - what started this to happen? What happens when you enter ctrl-alt-del anyway?
What screen does it freeze at?

Sorry for all the q's..but we need as much info as possible to try & help!
Also - can you map your computer's c$ share from another machine?

The screen freezes right at the point where the little pop up box that says hit ctrl-Alt-Del to login should appear.

Nothing happens when I hit the keys anyway.

The keyboard does work during the startup.

I have tried the press spacebar to run last known config.

This computer has been in use for about 6 mo and have had no problems.

Came in on monday and no login!!

Thanks

You haven't installed anything before that, or enabled "FilterKeys" on your keyboard?
Try a new keyboard if you think yours might be bad..if it's good, you should be able to turn num-lock on/off and see the light change on/off on the KB - but that wont tell you its definitely bad either.

When you pressed spacebar for Last Known Good - did it accept that from the Keyboard?