Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

RANT TIME!

Status
Not open for further replies.

gbaughma

IS-IT--Management
Staff member
Nov 21, 2003
US
So, my boss is trying to make his reservations for his annual trip to Asia.
But, his email (which has always gone through to his travel agent before) is being rejected as spam by the email host myregisteredsite.com

So, I hunt up a support number, tell them that I'm an IT Manager, and I need to know why email from my boss is getting rejected.

They ask me what my customer number is.

I repeat the issue; that I'm not a customer of theirs, that my boss is trying to send an email to a customer of theirs, and their system is rejecting it, even though it has always gone through before.

She says she can't help me.

I ask to speak to the mail admin.

She says "You're already speaking to support."

So now, I've had to get a hold of the travel agent myself, and tell him that HE has to call them to get this straightened out.

You know, being a system admin / manager / etc. *used* to mean something. I hate crappy customer service.

Just my 2¢

"What the captain doesn't realize is that we've secretly replaced his Dilithium Crystals with new Folger's Crystals."

--Greg

Greg said:
She says she can't help me.
Whenever I hear this (lame) reply, I use (to great success) the "DAM" Principle. (Here's how such a conversation might proceed:

Miss, inasmuch as I, too, am in the Information Management business, I know, for a fact that you can help me. But before you can help me, you must have:
[ul][li]The Desire to help me,[/li][li]The Authority to help me, and[/li][li]The Means to help me.[/li][/ul]