Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Opinions on this lab setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stumpa

Technical User
Nov 23, 2004
US
Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out on my CCNA in fact I'm looking at making a career change and will at some point continue on to CCNP, I've been searching and reading and I was wondering what you guys thought of this setup on ebay.My plan will be to add better equipment over time, as my skill increases but I'm getting some classroom training later in this month and would like to get up and running before that so I can make the best of the teachers and training. Is this setup worth 500? Is it ok to have only one router with 12.4? Also I did some work for a startup that fell though and they paid me partially in equipment, So I have a cisco catalyst 4507r that's been sitting in a closet for almost a year now. will I be able to use this in my ccna studies?

Thanks in advance.

You can get all of that for $350-$400 separately. Plus, you will want three routers and 3 switches. Switches can be 2900XL series, but preferrably 2950's, as they do more VTP wise (RSTP, etc). The routers you will want are maybe a 2503, a 2620, and a 2610XM. You will want at least two WIC-1T cards and two DB-60 DCE/DTE back2back serial cables (like $3 each for 3-footers). Price all that separately and you tell me.

Burt

Stumpa,

First - make sure you have read the blog about setting up a CCNA Lab by Wendell Odom, CCIE and Cisco Press author at Network World, this is a 9 part series and has lots of info you want to know -