Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Okay to learn on the clock?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kornork

Technical User
Nov 20, 2003
US
Hey,

I'm a recent grad, working my first database/programming job, so there's a lot of things that I need to pick up before I can be fully functional. I know that a certain amount of on the job learning is expected, and that it shouldn't be a problem if my employer sees me digging through a reference book.

But is it a problem if I'm hunkered down, reading all the way through a book to learn something from scratch? I wasn't expected to know what I'm learning when I was hired, but I've decided it would make my job easier. Is this something I should do on my own time?

Thanks,
Josh

Yes and No.

No, I don't think it's a problem if what you're trying to learn is directly related to a specific task or function that you've been assigned. That's necessary for doing the job at hand. On the other hand, learning things not directly related probably should be best done on your own time.

That being said, if you have some slack time, then I would not only think it's okay, but would encourage spending that time studying and learning.

Above all, the job comes first.

Good Luck
--------------
As a circle of light increases so does the circumference of darkness around it. - Albert Einstein

Concur with CajunCenturion. If it's something you can use on the job and studying doesn't preclude getting your work done on time, then study! But I WOULD make sure your boss knows/understands/agrees with what you are doing.

Hi Josh,

Congratulations on the first job!