Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Important question Should I stay with Avaya?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Irvineguy

MIS
Feb 7, 2006
US
I've been working on an Avaya platform for 2 years and I have the opportunity to work with a open source VOIP solution.

I'm not sure if I should stick with Avaya and increase my knowledge (on a none VOIP platform) or go to the open source VOIP solution which will give me more work experience on the data/ network side.

AVAYA is THE leader in VoIP technology, despite what CISCO pundits think. Your AVAYA experience can get you a nice job with a business partner, or many other places. Opensource platforms such as Asterisk, are overrated, and are never going to replace true business phone systems. AVAYA is also King of the Call Center, no one even attempts to argue any other way. See if you can get your company to upgrade their platform to an S-Series, would be my suggestion :)

Mitch

I want to disagree with 672.

My Cisco Dealer is constantly trying to tell me they are better at call center than Avaya.

I have yet to get my IPCC working properly without having to restart at least one server or service a week.

X6

Well I Have Call Center staff on Aspect ACD, Cisco IPCC, Avaya S8700, Nortell, and NEC.

I will tell you that not only does Avaya offer the best product as far as feature set but they administration and upkeep are the least complicated of all of my systems.

Avaya is competative in price or beats every other vender I currently deal with.

I should also mention I am a Asterisk Hobbyist. If there is such a thing. I have setup my own Asterisk box at home.