Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How to convince clients that being remote is OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cchubb

Programmer
Sep 29, 2003
US
I am relocating from Virginia to the Orlando, FL area this year. I am an independant software developer. I have a number of local clients that are happy with my services. A couple are cool about me moving to FL and have been cool about not having me face to face every week or so. Two of them are less understanding.

Now, I see the first one at least once a week, sometimes twice a week and do 90% of my work for them on-site. I have VPN access but the project managers just don't seem to think of me when I am not there and it has been tough to get them to give me work I can do from home. They always just say "Ill explain it to you when you get here on Monday...". Even no good over the phone. The second client just isn't really internet savvy and has a hard time with doing things like taking screen shots and sending informative emails, so working remotely for them is tough. I only see them infrequently, so it is not a big loss, but the first client would be a huge loss to have to replace.

How do I go about "weaning" them off of my physical presence and making them use me more as a remote resource?

Chris

Have you considered setting up web cams with them so you can teleconference? (I'm assumming here that full-scale teleconferencing equipment is too expensive.) You could do it now before you leave town and get them used to the set-up. I think one of the reasons why people like to have face to face meetings is that they feel more confortable when they can see your body language.