Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cisco direction or MS direction? Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtech2008

MIS
Oct 6, 2008
US
I have been working in the field for two years now. If I had to boil down the many things I do, I would say I am a Windows Network Admin.

I asked a local owner of a tech company what certs they had found to be most useful in their career. They said Linux and Cisco (Cisco always good). They also added that Microsoft guys were a "dime a dozen".

If I want to get more training and certs in networking related tech, what is your advice/experience in relation to Cisco?

I have an impression (which may be 100% wrong) Cisco guys run all over setting up connections for networks and seldom stay in one location. I know I would rather be at one location or two maximum. So, what types of jobs are available once I have my Cisco certs started?

To someone who really has to work to gain knowledge, is Cisco light years more difficult than say MCSE MCSA?

Once up and running are the Cisco jobs harder to find?

Cisco for networking, definitely. I have never done any Microhard certs, so I wouldn't know how tough that is. Cisco jobs vary from one location as a network admin/tech to a consultant/engineer working at many locations. Getting a job depends on your experience and where you are located.

Burt