Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Certifications... Are they necessary? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlchris2

Technical User
Mar 18, 2005
US
I am a Network Admin... all the skills I've learned are by trade. I do have a BS is CIS, but no certifications.

Where do you all stand? Are the A+, MCSE, Security +, Network + and other certifications valuable to you as a professional? Would obtaining these certifications be useful in landing a better paying job or make me look more presentable as a likely candidate for a position?

Mark C.
Network Admin - Digital Draw Network

Please see thread656-1107945 which will lead to other past discussions of this topic as well.

[sub]Jeff
[purple]It's never too early to begin preparing for [/purple]International Talk Like a Pirate Day

"The software I buy sucks, The software I write sucks. It's time to give up and have a beer..." - Me[/sub]

While they won't get you a better job, they will bump your profile up a bit. For example if you have two canditates both with the same experience and education, one with certs and one without the one with the certs would be the preferred person to bring in.

Many large companies are now wanting experience + some top level cert in your field. MCDE, MCDBA, CCNA, CCNE, etc. As a network Admin the A+ certs probably won't be of much use to you. Mostly people looking for help desk or NOC positions are looking for those.

Denny
MCSA (2003) / MCDBA (SQL 2000)

--Anything is possible. All it takes is a little research. (Me)

[noevil]
(Not quite so old any more.)

I take them because it forces me to learn things beyong OTJ training.