Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Are technical schools really all that? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natecl

Technical User
Dec 5, 2004
US
Hiyas. I've been attending a local technical school for the last 4 months. My experience has not been, shall we say, top notch. It seems that the hardware is sub-par, the teaching not too informative and the hands on labs are always fraught with hardware/software problems that ruin any learning experience. The school is a decent one in the area and is quite reputable. My question is, Do you think its worth the 18k for one of these schools? I'm beginning to think I can buy myself another computer or two and order the study materials and do it at home with the same results. I know it all depends on how what enviroment you learn best in, but just as a yes/no question, do you think technical schools are really worth the money?

18,000 for what? will you be certified (x,y,z). 2 year technical program with hands on trouble shooting? (sounds like you get to do that just to get the labs to work :)..)

what is the job placement percentage from this school?

As with everything, it depends on the school and the individual. One benefit you get that you do not get if you study at home is job placement. This could be critical especially if you are changing careers. But there are good and bad tech schools and good and bad instructirs at all tech schools. If you beleive you have been misled about the school you are attending, talk to their mamnagement about the problems you are having and about the lack of effectiveness of particular instructors.