Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Work and family - Is a balance possible? 12

Status
Not open for further replies.

KornGeek

Programmer
Aug 1, 2002
US
As a programmer, I am often expected to work late nights, weekends, etc. As a husband and father, I am expected to be home to tuck the kids in, attend school functions and baseball games, and spend quality time with my family. As a person, I'm expected to eat, sleep, and use the restroom and would like a little bit of time to just relax and do what I want to do.

Unfortunately, there are only 24 hours in a day. Both my boss and my family want more time out of me. I've already sacrificied most of my personal time. Eating is most often done at my desk, and sometimes done in a combination with family/relaxing time. Sleep has been trimmed down to unhealthy levels, and I've given up on personal time. About the only thing left to give up is my restroom time, and that would just get messy.

When both my work and family want about 15 hours a day from me, 7 days a week, how can I find balance? If I spend too much time with one, I run a very real risk of losing the other (especially the job right now). Any suggestions?

In my opinion, your employer has unrealistic expectations. The boss for all of us programmers where I work is a family man, and an ex-programmer himself, so we are discouraged from working past our quitting time, or from home.