Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Which code is synthesizable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aryajur

Programmer
Jul 2, 2003
US
Hello,
I am very new to VHDL and I am still learning but I have one very basic confusion. I have read that VHDL follows a top down approach to design generally and it is very convenient.
What I don't understand is suppose we make a VHDL program for some circuit, we may be starting from the behavioral description of the differnt modules and then define details. How do we know at which stage our code is completely synthesizable automatically to a gate level netlist. I mean if out code is very abstract I don't think that a synthesizer will be able to produce a gate netlist. So how do we know that this is the minimum details we need to give so now the code is synthesizable??

Please clarify anyone.

hmm. interesting question. For my own part I was taught some basic structures and rules from which I have expanded with experience.

most books will probably list those simple structures, but maybe not in a "these are the basic structures for synthesizable code".

to begin with, if you only use a small set of things:
- don't use variables
- if statements
- case statements
- std_logic_vector and std_logic types

and a few rules like:
- never have a signal in more that one process (a hard rule, not a guideline for synthesizability)
- avoid BIG processes keep them simple and limited to small functions (rather than the whole design). if possible fit them into one page - but sometimes you just have to break this rule.
- try to create a hierarchy, not your whole design in one file.

What is hard for synthesizers?