Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Reports

Status
Not open for further replies.

Davidp41

Programmer
Sep 17, 2023
GB
I am an amateur programmer, though I did use VFP5 to develop a program to catalogue dog shows. I am now producing an application, after a gap of several years, to print monthly invoices for my bridge club members. I have been following earlier discussions on Tek-Tips and have installed Foxypreviewer. I can produce the report for an individual member but the problem I am having is changing the name from invoices.frx to SmithJ.
The code I used in the command window is to get it to work is
REPORT FORM invoices FOR ebu_number = ebNum;
OBJECT TYPE 10;
TO FILE "c:\users\userpc\documents\invoices\.CarterP.pdf")
When I tried this using a memory variable it failed.
Advice or help would be much appreciated.

Davidp41,

welcome. It's always good to hear more people thn are activley posting profit from the forum.

Davidp41 said:
the problem I am having is changing the name from invoices.frx to SmithJ.

Davidp41 said:
When I tried this using a memory variable it failed.
I could only point out what you did wrong, when you post your failing code instead of what works.

If a concrete file name works, then it should also work when first put into a variable. Does it work, though? I assume the actual problem is that foxypreviewr jut generates a file with the name of the FRX, just with the extension changed to PDF.

I think it depends wheter you use the last verson belwo 3, the 2.99something version vs the 3.0 version. But I would also solve this by just renaming the output file after FoxyPreviewer generates it, that'll work anyway.

Chriss

What fails is