Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Redirect incoming calls to an external number 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tokenyank

IS-IT--Management
Nov 30, 2011
GB
First, please forgive me in advance. I am not a telephony engineer, nor do I know much about PBX's so if my terminology or descriptions leave anything to be desired, I am sorry!

I've searched through your forums and have tried to muddle my way through online resources but I am still stuck so I hope that I might be able to find someone here to rescue me!

*The History*

We are a small independant company and have been running the same PBX system since before my tenure. 6 months ago, our IT guy left after a 'disagreement' with management and took all documentation and 'cheat sheets' with him in a fit of rage.

I was not here when the system was setup, and due to the system's age - we can't seem to get an engineer to touch it, instead all they want to do is sell us a new system.

We are running a Norstar Modular 8x24DS KSU Phone System based on description of the system, and the photo on this site
*The problem*

We have recently been bought out by a bigger company who already have a PBX system in place and it is incapibatible with ours. They've already expressed that they will not pay to have our phone number changed or re-routed, their only choices given to us is to leave our current system running and put a voicemail service on saying that our number has changed or disconnect entirely.