Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

oh no... INI

Status
Not open for further replies.

TAnselm

Vendor
Mar 10, 2006
US
Here's a good question for all of you. I'm an on-site tech for a local vendor. This site has an 81C running on 25.40 software. Loop 116 has been in service for almost 2 year without the slightest hic-cup.

Two days ago my company logged into the switch with OrderPro to download all the information that Nortel needs to quote out an upgrade. During the download we had an INI. According to them the last command issued was and IDC against one of the cards in loop 116. So as not to interrupt service again (on a fortune 50 company), they tried again last night with the same results, another INI.

There is nothing weird in that module. Just your standard digital and analog line cards NT8D02's and NT8D09's. I know that ld 30 is in MIDN so the loop is getting checked each night. I would love to do an IDC on each and every card on that shelf, but don't want to tempt fate. Anyway I can't understand how a simple IDC can INI a switch.

Have any of you ever heard of something like this?

yes, the IDC command is quering the card for information. If the card is flaky/bad or the flash bios on the card is faulty, the PBX could get interrupt errors (BERR) and cause the INI.

Looking at the orderpro log file, the person running it should be able to tell you which card it is and unseat it and carry on.

ok that makes sense because this is the error I received during the INI:

BERR600 NCB 1 3: Check Device "LOOP 116" at address 0x9d20 in Group 3
% Check IO device, network device, or PS card
%
% BERR705 EXC 1: Bus Error in Task "tSBB" (0xbb88950)