Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie: Programming Direction and Trends?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcztektips

Technical User
Jun 4, 2007
US
I have some basic experience in the tech field and recently landed my first full time position (5 months ago). I do enjoy my work greatly now, but I am covering a broad range of issues daily. Because of this I find it hard to improve or focus in one area.

I have some interest in programming but its such a large field I was hoping to get some general advice here. My questions may be too generalized, but this might be a place to get a starting direction and I appreciate any input.

Are there certain aspects of the IT industry that are immune to or will not be greatly effected by the shipping of jobs to India? Is programming at a greater risk?

Could it be good at an archaic or seldom used language and maybe have more job security? On the flipside are there languages to stay away from because the job market is flooded with talent?

Is there an age limit to get started in programming or an age bias when it comes time to find a job?

Are there certain languages that lend themselves to more enjoyable days or ones that are a real pain? Is there a language thats the future and one thats over and done?

Is it best to go back to school and take some non brand specific programming classes?

Learn online?

Learn with books and videos at home?