Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

new to IT working world 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

greetcup

Technical User
Aug 7, 2011
US
Hi,

I have earned my A+, Network+, Security+, and MCP certifications, and now I am thinking of taking the 70-291 to earn the MCSA certification. But, I have no work experience.

Do you guys think if I get the MCSA I will get overqualified for some jobs, or I might scare off some employers because of the MCSA? Imagine applying to a entry-level helpdesk or PC technician job and the hiring manager sees that I have my MCSA.

In my opinion, a lack of work experience will hamper you significantly more than having an additional credential.

Experience goes a LONG ways in this industry, and can count for a lot more than most any certifications you can acquire. Might I suggest you get in the field and get a couple years in the trenches under your belt before attempting another cert. Without trying to sound tacky, nobody wants a "Paper Admin", they want someone that can actually do it.

--------------------------------------------------
“Crash programs fail because they are based on the theory that, with nine women pregnant, you can get a baby a month.” --Wernher von Braun

I agree with ousoonerjoe.

Go and get your hands dirty for a couple of years. See what the real world is like and then go for more certs.

Additional benefit? Your employer might even pay for the certification and save you a packet.

It is time for pacifists to stand up and fight for their beliefs.