Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need to separate data in table taken from mult select list box 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

miaka13

Technical User
Jul 31, 2003
US
I am extremely new at VBA coding. I am trying to put together a user friendly database in Access 2002 for my coworkers. I managed to get a code from this forum to work in my database. What I currently have my form doing is to take the information selected in my multi select list box and place it in a table. Unfortunately it is taking all of my selected data and placing it in one field on my table. I would like to put each selected item into a seperate field in my table. Can anyone help me? Please go easy on little old beginner me. :p

please paste your code here so we can see it and help you out :))

Here is the code that I used:

Private Sub Submit_Click()

Dim strVal As String
Dim varItem As Variant
Dim ctl As Control
Dim rst As DAO.Recordset

Set ctl = Me.List0

For Each varItem In ctl.ItemsSelected
strVal = strVal & ctl.ItemData(varItem) & ","

Next
strVal = Mid(strVal, 1, Len(strVal) - 1)

Set rst = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("mytable")
rst.AddNew
rst!FavoriteColor = strVal
rst.Update

Set rst = Nothing
Set ctl = Nothing

End Sub

you are making one long string, separated by commas, and plunk it into one field.

the code below is what i use. it's similar to yours, but puts each item from the list box into a separate field. you'll have to change your table field names from Model, MinEFF and MaxEFF to whatever your field names are. to the right of the "=" signs, is where you pick them out of the list box. column 0 is the first item in the list box; 1 is the second (to the right in the same row), and so on: