Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

MSC prevents BCM400 from booting 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

phonetech1

Technical User
Jan 31, 2005
US
Hi All,
I'm totally new to BCM, I have one in our interop lab and I'm having a problem with only digital phones operational.
The hard drive doesn't run and when I attach the monitor and keyboard I don't see system booting. The indicators show that the HD is not running and serial and LAN ports are not operational.

However, if I remove the MSC board, I can see the boot process on the monitor, I can see boot choices (it is a WIN NT OS) and finally it hangs on the blue screen: that says WIn NT 1 system processor 255 MB memory. So I get a little further without the MSC board.

Can anybody help me out to understand what may be wrong?
I am an old telephone man (Avaya & Siemens) and I know not to do anything stupid and wipe out the system, lose licences etc.

Thanks

when you first boot up do you hear a series of beeps.
3 fast beeps -pause 2 beeps with pause -followed by 2 fast beeps.

OK then

THis happen to me recently.

The hard drive could not be seen so i changed it and got the same symptons again.

I eventually decided to change the power unit.

All worked ok and the hard drive led started to flash and system booted up ok.

So i suggest you change the power unit first.

Thanks snoman50

I'll get a new power supply, but it may take a couple of days.
In the meantime I pulled out the harddrive tray and reconnected it outside the system housing. Checked voltages at the hard drive connector and I can see that all voltages are present I can also feel that the hard drive is spinning so it is definitely getting the power.