Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Is it possible to send form data straight to an email address? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RMcCallan

Programmer
Sep 20, 2010
GB
I currently have a 'contact us' form on a website I am designing, the client wants this information to be sent through to their inbox straight away once 'submit' is clicked. Is this possible or will it have to go into the sql database first and then sent from there? Any replied appreciated!

Thanks,
Rebecca

Ok cool, I'm quite new to this so how would I then put that code into VWD2010 (I'm using html primarily). Thanks for the reply.

Thanks,
Rebecca

You will need to use an .aspx page with a code-behind file and reference the namespace mentioned by Mark.

Yes I do understand that but the reason that I asked this question is because I don't know what code to write... if I knew I would have written it myself and not asked these questions... also I've looked at those tutorials before and I can't find anything which would appear to help me with this...

Thanks,
Rebecca

Yes I do understand that but the reason that I asked this question is because I don't know what code to write... if I knew I would have written it myself and not asked these questions... also I've looked at those tutorials before and I can't find anything which would appear to help me with this...
In that case I'm not sure why you don't know what code to write. The first link I gave you has a simple example of sending an email. You can simply copy & paste that function into your project and call the function.

Mark,

Darlington Web Design[tab]|[tab]Experts, Information, Ideas & Knowledge[tab]|[tab]ASP.NET Tips & Tricks