Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Is it possible to develop palm apps with VB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eyal

Programmer
May 15, 2000
IL
Is it possible to develop palm apps with VB?

I'm just getting into developing for the Palm, and I have yet to find their API.. but I'd guess that VB (useful for constructing programs for the Windows OS) would not be useful for developing apps for the Palm OS. I could be wrong... just my first (somewhat uneducated) guess. <br><br>Liam Morley<br><A HREF="mailto:"></A><br><A HREF=" TARGET="_new"> the deep, and bring silence to the world.<br>
light the world, and bring depth to the silence.&quot;

in my opinion some of the most useful languages would be native or low level programming language, something that can compile only what you need together. Such languages I'm looking into for creating palm apps (I've still to find some reasources) are VC++ and Java , I have found a Java VM for Palm called Waba which is free (wabasoft.com) I've seen some SDKs for VC++ to write for PalmOS , I've yet been able to download them. Typically some charge money, unless it's an SDK from a specific PDS manufactuer like mine (trgpro.com)

I doubt with Visual Basic (mostly known for it's visual ability not it's console coding) you could make a successful PalmOS app.
Karl
kb244@kb244.com
Experienced in : C++(both VC++ and Borland),VB1(dos) thru VB6, Delphi 3 pro, HTML, Visual InterDev 6(ASP(WebProgramming/Vbscript)