Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

?? installation help ?? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

toddOne

Programmer
Jul 20, 2001
US
first off...i am not very experienced with file systems...so i may not be taking the right approach...

ok...i went to maxtor's website and downloaded powermax to run a test on the hard drive and it passed...so the drive itself is fine.

i did a fdisk and format of the c drive and now there
are no operation systems. the c and d are partitoned
85% and 15% respectively, but the file system for the
c is fat32 and for d it is ntfs. as i was going
through the setup i selected to have the c drive
converted to ntfs....then as installation proceeded i
received this error:

file vga.sys is corrupted.
then it restartd...so i just went through the setup process again only to receive a similar error:

file vga.sys caused an unexpected error (8192) at line
3183 in d:\expclient\base\boot\setup\setup.c.

if you have any suggestions i would be greatly appreciate!
thanks in advance!

Try to install again. When you install, this time leave it as FAT32. NTFS is not going to offer you significant benefit. It makes it harder to access and fix faults when your system crashes and cannot by read by a FAT/FAT32 system. I wouldn't use NTFS in my home PC if I was paid to.

If you a still getting errors, I would use fdisk to remove all partitions and start clean. You can then make the partitions again, and set up windows as usual.

"file vga.sys caused an unexpected error (8192) at line
3183 in d:\expclient\base\boot\setup\setup.c. "

I wonder if the fact that drive d: appearing in the error message is indicating that perhaps your install media (CD I assume) is bad?