Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

how to use apache ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bionicfysh

Programmer
Sep 23, 2003
GB
:D

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post on this forum, and I a already like it :)

As you can tell I am a complete newbie to Apache. My mission is to setup a web server on my Suse Linux 8.1 box, initially for test purposes, and then if my ISP provider permits, then to allow other poeple to connect to it too....

Anyways, I have taken on board the advice of most forum administrators, in the sense that I looked at all of the post which are likelly to answer my question, in the hope not to bore you with trivial questions.
I have also digested numerous FAQs, and HOT-TOs, together with many google searches on Apache....

And the truth is that I still never get a straight answer to the most basic questions....

My question is: How do I use Apache ?

I have correctly installed it: OK
I have successfully started it as root (apachectl start)
I have also edited the /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf file (after making a backup of course)
and I made some changes:

Listen myipaddress:80
BindAddress *
User Group users
DocumentRoot &quot;/home/RSIA_taehakkyo/usr/rsia/rsias/<Directory &quot;/home/RSIA_taehakkyo/usr/rsia/rsias/<IfModule mod_userdir.c>
UserDir public_html
UserDir www
</IfModule>

In all, I added all of the specifications that anyone else would in my position

Now I have copied one index.html and one cgi script to the ~user/www/ directory and ~user/ directories respectively (N.B I also created these directories)

Now I try to restart the httpd, through apachectl restart, and it indicates that this went OK.

However, when I do this:
lynx
netscape