Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do I track 161 items (5) days per week for (6) months

Status
Not open for further replies.

nunu

Technical User
Nov 10, 2002
US
Hello, all! Here's a little background on myself and what I have been task to do:
1. I'm totally new to databases and Access.
2. My company paid for training(Compusa computer school)two months ago. Now this is my first project...

How do I setup my table(s) in Access 2000 to:
a. Track a 165 fields
b. (5) days per week
c. for(6)months
d. for 54 kids?

Thanks Mary

Actually, I'm very curious what your own approach would be after that training. I don't want to switch subjects, but a training should have imparted at least a general idea.
Still,

you're not alone,

TomCologne

Well TomCologne, training was okay but I'm drawing a big fat blank. Everything was preset and so easy to develop in class. Plus if I got stuck, I always had an instructor to turn to. But how much can you really learn in two days?

This is what I was going to try:

3 table setup...
tbl 1 Contains information on the 54 kids
Name, Ht, Wt, Age, Address, Parents info, etc...

tbl 2 Contains the Behavioral check list
165 items we have to track daily on the kids

tbl 3 would hold the date information
We have to track this information 5 days
per week for one month.

It all seemed so easy, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to make this work. I when to the book store and got Access 2000 bible but it's not telling me what I need to know...

Mary
PS to be frank, the more I read the more lost I get!!!

Hi Mary,