Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

get VSS files based on label 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

hosrow

Programmer
May 18, 1999
US
I understand that this can only be accomplished via command line, but command line asks for authentication which does not work !!! Here is my command line:

C:\"Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VSS\win32"\SS GET $/VSSTEST/*.* -r -vlLABEL1

I found which talks about authenticating when using vss command line. This confused the matters more !!! I came up wit the following but it does not work an I do not understand why because I am not a VB expert. Can anyone help PLEASE... The above website lead me to create the following code...

Const InvalidPath = 0
Const InvalidUserName = 1
Const InvalidPwd = 2
Const Success = 3

Declare Function Login lib "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VSS\win32" (ByVal szUserName as String, ByVal szPassword as String, ByVal szUMPath as String) as Integer

Sub Main()

Dim RetVal as integer
Dim UserName, Password, UMPath as string

UserName = “myusername”
Password = “mypassword”
UMPath = “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\Vss\Data\UM.DAT”

RetVal = Login(UserName, Password, UMPath)

‘ All return error processing goes here

I think that all you need to do is add -Y and -S parameters to your command line command.

-Y allows you to specify the user name and password
-S allows you to specify where your source safe database is

You will also need to check that the Windows User that you are running the command as has access to the directory & share that the source safe database is sitting in.

Code: