Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

General Info on Paradox 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

stinger1

IS-IT--Management
Nov 20, 2002
US
I have some experience with SQL Server, but need as much info as possible on Paradox.

My company hired a guy to create a database and he did it in paradox. They may want to post some of this stuff online in the next 12 months or so.

How difficult is Paradox to learn? Where can I get training - adequate training? Is online training sufficient?

I need as much info as possible so that I can make some informed decisions about utilizing this program.

Thanks in advance

>>How difficult is Paradox to learn?
I found it very difficult. Now that I have learned it (sort of), I realize what a powerful program it is. But, in my humble opinion, not at all user-friendly. After I started trying to learn it, I taught myself Access, Approach and FileMaker easily before becoming at all comfortably with Paradox.

>>Where can I get training - adequate training?
See replies to the current "Looking for a Resource" post.

>>Is online training sufficient?
Not many "offline" options unless there will be enough of you taking the training to justify brining someone in.

This forum is your best resource!
Harry

Hi,

I have been programming with Paradox for a very long time. The best resource that I know is a seris of book by Mike Prestwood. He has written books called "What every Paradox programmer should Know" He also has a web site called Prestwood.com that is very helpful.

Thanks Chris,