Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FIFO

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosluc

Technical User
Jan 14, 2010
FR
Hi to everyone!

I am a beginner with VHDL, so I'm sorry if I say something extremely stupid! :)
I have implement a fifo code, so before starting coding I would like to know if there is any reference that you know that I can read to help me!
Of course any help is more than welcome, thank you!

Hello Rosluc,

Let me start by saying that you don't give a lot of information on what you want.

Fifo's are very comonly used components and they exist in many flavours.

A majo distinction is synchronous and asynchronous fifos. Mainly in my work I use asynchronous ones 99% of the time.
A synchronous fifo is a fifo where output and input run on the same clock. The asynchronous one has a different clock for in an output.
So fifos are mostly used for transfering data from one clock domain to the other. For example from a DDR controller to a processing component.

Further fifos can have different features. Basic fifo has a write dataport a write clock and a write enable and a read clock, a read enable and a read dataport. Also most of the time they have status flags full and empty. Full is commonly on the write side and empty on the read side. Often you will find also almost full and almost empty flags.
You can imagine that if you start a burst read of 256 bytes when your fifo only has 5 bytes of space left will give you a problem. So it is useful in most application to have a full indication well in time before the fifo actually goes full. The same reasoning can be done for empty.