Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Entry-Level Blues 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

benlinkknilneb

Programmer
May 16, 2002
US
Hi all,

I'm a college student, majoring in CompSci, with 1 year until I complete my degree. I took an internship last summer in a manufacturing environment, developing statistical/database applications. It has since grown into a full-time position. My question is this: is the market for IT People/Computer Programmers/etc. really as bad as some of the depressing posts I've read in this & other forums? What do you think I can expect in terms of a job market in the next year or two? It's not necessarily that I'm looking to get out of this job; I really love it... but I also want to know what my options are.

Ben

What matters is that you now have your foot in the door. You have experience with this company (albeit as an intern), but that will give you a leg up on any other potential candidates once you get your degree.

I don't think the job market is really as bad as some people make it out to be. I've always thought that IT is the best thing to get into, because everybody uses comouters and everybody depends on them. It's just a matter of you targeting the right segment of IT that has demand. Reserch that and focus your learning in that direction.

So, keep at it, and if worse comes to worse, and your current employer dumps you, you are going to have a leg up over the other graduates who have a degree without experience. The job market will get better; it's part of the economic cycle.

"When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the Earth with your eyes turned skyward, for here you have been, and there you will always long to return."