Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CursorAdapter.CursorRefresh doesn't seem to work when starting a VFP transaction 1

xinjie

Programmer
Sep 6, 2020
CN
Hi,everyone

I am a newbie in terms of using CursorAdapter. My development environment is VFP9 SP2 7423 . I am having a very confusing problem.

I have a document entry UI with a parent-child table structure. The child table needs to display the record corresponding to the parent table when the parent table's record pointer moves.

In the BeforeCursorFill of the child table, I added the following code:
Code:
LPARAMETERS luseCursorSchema, lNoDataOnLoad, cSelectCmd

TEXT TO m.cSelectCmd ADDITIVE NOSHOW TEXTMERGE PreText 2
	Where ParentID = ?Parent.ID 
	Order by NO 
EndText
With this, I can get the results I want in browse mode.

The problem is in edit mode. When starting to enter a new record, I first execute the Begin Transaction command. After the records are added to the Parent table, I need to refresh the child to get an empty result set. Like this:
Code:
*!* Parent
Append Blank
Child.CursorRefresh

But my Child are not empty result sets, and it seems that CursorRefresh doesn't do anything. It still has the records that were there before the edit.

I tried to change cSelectCmd in (Child's) BefroeCursorRefresh , like this:
Code:
LPARAMETERS cSelectCmd

TEXT TO m.cSelectCmd NOSHOW TEXTMERGE PreText 1 + 2 + 4 + 8
    Select * From Child Where ParentID = ?Parent.ID Order by NO 
ENDTEXT
But the results were also disappointing and not what I was looking for.