Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Chart not displaying correctly on laptop. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bryan - Gendev

Programmer
Jan 9, 2011
AU
I have a simple chart using mscomctl.OCX in my app. This works perfectly on my Dev PC.
However, when installed on my laptop I get a 'distorted' image where the components are 'bunched up' vertically - not in the usual correct spacing.
I have added this line in my Inno script
Source: mypath_Dist\mscomctl.OCX; DestDir: "{sys}"; Flags: regserver ignoreversion;
Any ideas why this might be happening?
GenDev

The fact that the chart is being displayed - albeit incorrectly - suggests that the OCX has been properly installed and registered. If that was not the case, you would have seen an error message. So don't look to Inno for the cause.

A more likely possibility would be DPI awareness. Try putting this near the start of your main program:

Code:
DECLARE INTEGER SetProcessDPIAware IN WIN32API
SetProcessDPIAware()

However, if that doesn't solve the problem, remove it, as it cold cause unwanted side effects elsewhere.

Mike

Visual FoxPro articles, tips and downloads

Hi Mike,

Sadly that didn't create any change - removed form code in Main.prg

Gendev

It could still be related to different DPI resolutions on Dev PC and laptop. Todays laptops often come with HD or even UHD/XHD displays with high DPI rates, unlike VFP, which reacts to SetProcessDpiAware rendering fonts accordingly, OCXes usually have their own settings about that.

Change the font sizes up when you detect high DPI displays. That is, if the resolution is higher than usual, set up the font sizes used in the chart.

Chriss

Hi Chriss,

The laptop is an older model.