Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Building a multi table random row get with some rules

Status
Not open for further replies.

POSAPAY

IS-IT--Management
Jul 27, 2001
HU
Hi all,
I've never done random row selections before, but the need has come.

Basic scenario:
MS SQL Server 2000
table1 = users
table2 = postings
table1.ID = table2.USER_ID is a decimal.
table2.DATE_POSTED is a date format

Result needed is a table of the postings but:
- only one record from each user to show in every 20 records
- only show records within last 90 days of post date to now.

Once the result has come back, I'd like to use it in ASP and paginate through it.

Currently the database has like 5000 records, probably an approximately 1000 records would be an appropriate data returned.

The random factor is to display the returned rows in random order, not by post date.

While this normally would be against useful logic, there is a reason for this madness, and that is to ensure displayed records are random, and not one user floods the returned set in one screen. Each post is an advertisement, unrelated to other posts.

Any and all help is much appreciated! Thanks!
-Peter

Are there exactly 20 different user types? Seems impossible but it would help to know. If not then I believe it would help to determine the number of distinct User_Ids first. I am thinking that you need to use the DENSE function and partition by User_Id; you select all matching records first in a temporary table, then pass them to another table one different User_Id at a time. Then your ASP logic would only need to page through the disctinct number of User_Ids at a time. More details would help.