Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Building a Communication Manager Home Lab

Status
Not open for further replies.

vortex06

Technical User
Feb 9, 2013
US
I am interested in building a home lab to learn Communication Manager and Voicemail. I am a hobbyist that would like to learn to configure the switch, and few digital phones, analog phones, voip phones, PRI, copper trunks, voicemail, auto attendant, coverage groups, ARS, and more I can't think of right now. I bought a G700 on ebay but it didn't come with an S8300. Does anyone have any tips on my options to build a home lab, with or without this G700?

Yes, same question here.. I can get my hands on an s8300D server and buy a G350 or something cheap on Ebay. How do you go about licensing and things like that?

If you get a s8300d put system platform and cm sp4 on the s8300d both available on the support / plds sites , once your cm is on 6.2 it will run for 30 days will all licences open , configure it take a back up and then after 30 days reset it if you need to administer further , or reload platform and cm and put your back up in .....hey presto a fully licenced kit for not much $$$$$

APSS (SME)
ACSS (SME)

That would be perfect. Would this work on cm 6.0 or cm 5 as well? Or only on 6.2?

As far as i know R6 only but somebody elae may be able to qualify

APSS (SME)
ACSS (SME)

A normal PC with 4 port NIC (recommend something like and plenty of RAM 16GB.

Gateway there is no way around it other than to get a G430, but that's only if you want trunks (or the phones to register as H323 I need they need the gateway - if its sip they can register direct to the CM).