Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

BSOD win32k.sys dumpchk results 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

molecul3

Technical User
Apr 17, 2003
HK
Hi all,

I have been getting BSODs on a new Thinkpad laptop and it always says that win32k.sys is the culprit.I ran some memory diagnostics and also PC doctor and results were good so I believe it is not a hardware issue. Coincidently, the only time it seems to blue screen is when I remote to the PC via an application called NetOp. We install a NetOp host on laptops and it allows administrators to log on to troubleshoot remotely. I am new to dumpchk and I just ran it and got the results below.

Can someone tell me what is wrong?
---------------------------------
Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, bf8198cd, a7078d70, 0}

Probably caused by : win32k.sys ( win32k!WatchdogIsFunctionHooked+b )

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

Finished dump check
----------------------------

Thanks in advance

HOW TO: Verify Unsigned Device Drivers in Windows XP

Install Debugging Tools for Windows 32-bit Version

There is some evidence a corrupt Paging File could be a possible cause.

win xp pro - startup error message
thread779-407755

This is another possible cause involving video drivers or DEP.

Problems with NetOp and XP

Hi all,

Thanks very much for the prompt response.

Linney,

I have installed debugging tools and produced the dumpchk results but I am not sure how to run debugging tools itself. Do I use the same minidmp file?

I already tried disabling DEP and updating my video card drivers but no luck as well (sorry I should have mentioned this)

Ben,