Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Another Design Question 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbidingDude

Programmer
Oct 7, 2012
US
Hello, I'm trying to set up a database for the shop I work in. I want to start tracking defects. Currently, when we have a defective part, we have to fill out a paper defect tag and keep it with the part. I'd like to get all this info in a file.

There are two aspects to the defect tag - the problem, and the resolution. I'm somewhat new to databases, but just to get started, I have a database with 1 table. It has fields for the defect info and the resolution info (who ok'ed it, what was done, etc.) I have an autofield as my primary key to guarantee a unique tag number. However, I'm thinking I should have the resolution in a separate table, but I'd like the tag number to be linked to both the defect and resolution tables. Can that be done? Or should I just keep it as one table?

That's a good design problem to discuss.

The temporal nature of this means you'd start only filling in the defect info section of the record and then later fill in the resolution. There is a technical need of setting the resolution section to some defaults, most probably NULL.