Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Accepting new job with undersirable salary

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtr33

Instructor
Aug 24, 2006
US
Today, I just accepted a new job as a software trainer. I have 30 years business experience in communications, education, and sales.

I have no experience as a software trainer but have taught as a business teacher, written training scripts, and have managed a medical outpatient cardiology clinic.

I accepted a base salary of 38K. I regret doing that since I believe fervently that is too low a salary for my experience.

Can I call the company tomorrow and ask for a higher salary or should I wait a few months and ask for a raise.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

The key word is that you "accepted" the offer. That means you accepted the salary that was offered. That doesn't mean you can't bring it up, it's just that negotiating compensation is usually done before you accept an offer, not after.

I would say don't bring it up, but do bring it up in a few months when you've proven that you're worth more. You should have developed some form of relationship with your boss by then, so bringing it up should be easier than trying to discuss it with someone you hardly know.

MTR,

A technique that I have found effective whenever negotiating compensation package is that I never accept a first salary offer (unless it wildly exceeds my salary expectations) without a "counter" that goes like this: