Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

YAMAHA OPL3-SAx...what in the hell am I doing wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pwjgirl

Programmer
Dec 27, 2000
US
OK guys...I usually pride myself in trying to resolve my own problems...but now I finally give. While reading this post, please keep in mind that I am a mainframe programmer! haha. I am 'fixing up' an old PC and added a sound card. I downloaded the driver from the YAMAHA site, but it fails with an error "Cannot copy the Sa??????.inf file". I tried using the driver on the CD that came with the sound card, but with that as soon as Windows detects New Hardware and searches the 'supplied software', it returns a message that no drivers were found on it! Can anyone please help or atleast point me in the right direction. Thanks for ANYTHING!

Download from here Yamaha OPL drivers, but remember to run the executable either on your hard drive or on a floppy before trying to use the file.

I'm not sure these are what you need but you can get other drivers from here:

There is a link to older drivers.

Hope this helps,

Lori ggebhart@clover.net
I hope I never get too old or arrogant to learn something new!

With apologies for hurting any feelings for what may or may not be an obvious answer, here goes my 1.5 cents.