Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

XSLT: storing enumerated values in variables 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

goaway1234

Programmer
Jun 2, 2004
US
I am relatively new to XSLT, so i hope this isn't too noobish.

The task at hand is creating a web page where the result of some transform is displayed in a table, which has column headers that users can click to sort it. What I have is currently working, and for simplicity I removed all but one column and some javascript:

Code:
    <xsl:template match="//current-issues">
        <table style="width:100%">
            <thead>
                <tr>
                    <td class="clickable" style="text-decoration: underline" id="reportedHeader_{$status}">Reported Date</td>
                </tr>
            </thead>
            <tbody>
                <xsl:choose>
                    <xsl:when test="$sort-direction='ascending'">
                        <xsl:apply-templates select="current-issues/i">
                            <xsl:sort data-type="number" select="@reported-sort" order="ascending"/>
                        </xsl:apply-templates>
                    </xsl:when>
                    <xsl:otherwise>
                            <xsl:sort data-type="number" select="@reported-sort" order="descending"/>
                    </xsl:otherwise>
                </xsl:choose>
            </tbody>
        </table>
    </xsl:template>

I had to throw in an extraneous <xsl:choose> and commit a copy-paste style crime to sort the data ascending or descending depending on the value of the $sort-direction variable.