Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

XP or 2k?

Status
Not open for further replies.

askIllustrator

Technical User
Apr 20, 2001
DE
I have had XP pro installed for about 6-8 months and now that nothing works anymore and everything is slowing down I have to reinstall. I'm going to go ahead and do a system wipe and start over but what I find myself tempted to do is put win2k back on...

That is unless someone here can point out to me a really good reason to keep XP. I would really like to hear from the xperts here (hence why I came to tek-tips). I am a freelance graphic artist and a hardcore gamer if that helps you with your argument. Also, NTFS or FAT32? BEHOLD! As Steve Jobs introduces us the latest in desk-lamp technology!

There are lots of posts on this subject - presumably if you're putting 2k back on you know what its like so you're already in the best position to decide.

I cant handle a dual boot, thats too much chaos. Yes I am paticularly fond of 2k Im just worried that their may be a feature or two that wont work for me. Everyone told me you cant play games on 2k yet every game I ever tried worked just fine so go figure. I've got a Radeon 9700 which I bought mainly so I could stay current for a while and I'm sorta worried that some of the features on it ie. DirectX 9 (even though its been delayed) wont be supported. I figure I'll try out Unreal Tourn 2003 and Maya right away and put XP if either of them dont work. BEHOLD! As Steve Jobs introduces us the latest in desk-lamp technology!

Jaquan,