Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

XML with VB6 (Newbee) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Periko

Programmer
Feb 24, 2003
BE
Hello,

I'm rather new in this. When I have different nodes, how can I position myself on the right place and read out the data? I'm messing around with elements, nodes and nodelists, but don't get anywhere......

-Job
-Right
-order
<supcode="xxx" procode="yyy"/>

How can I read out the supcode from right, not risking i'm taking them from left ?
Sorry, seems stupid however, but it's complete new for me.
I'm using the xml 6.0 in the references from vb6.
Loading the document is ok, but that's all...

Thx for any help...
Periko...

[1] The last tag is not. (Suppose it is [tt]<z supcode="xxx" procode="yyy" />[/tt] with two attributes.)

[2] Suppose you have the object instantiated.
[tt] dim xmldoc as new msxml2.domdocument60[/tt]
After loading...
[tt] set onode=xmldoc.selectsinglenode("Job/Right/order/z")[/tt]
You can display the attributes like this.
[tt] msgbox onode.getAttribute("supcode") & vbcrlf & onode.getAttribute("procode")[/tt]
That's about it.

Hello tsuji,

thx very much, this helps me a lot.
Just one problem. I declared the onode as IXMLDOMNode. is this correct ? Because i don't get the .getattribute on this sort of declaration. However, when I declare a variable as IXMLDOMElement, then I have the .getattribute.

You helped me a lot on my way to the solution, but this last step i'm missing. Can you help me out with this one, please ?

Kind regards...
Periko