Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

XML stored in CLOB - repeating Nodes - how to read?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dtoronto

Programmer
Jul 12, 2012
US
Hi folks:

I am very new to CLOB data - I have tried writing SQL that reads multiple occurrances of XML nodes stored within a clob. The problem is that some of the nodes repeat.

Below is my code, which works for XML structures with only one node (in the action tag), but I get the 19025 error when there are multiple nodes (ie: More than one action)

I am pasting the code below, followed by the XML structure that gives me the error. Note: I have pretty much tried using the existsnode, but I am not sure how to use it for reading multiple XML elements;

One last thing - I do not have priviledges to create functions, procs, or use the UTIL for file creation...

now the code:

select
i.customer_ow_id
, di_info
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/DIType') DI_Type
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/IsConditional') IsConditional
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Created') Created
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/LastModifiedDate') LastModifiedDate
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/LastModifiedBy') LastModifiedBy
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Instructions/Instruction/Tag') Tag
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Instructions/Instruction/Conditions/SuitTypeCond/SuitTypes/SuitType') SuitType
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Instructions/Instruction/Actions/Action/Tag') Action_Tag
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Instructions/Instruction/Actions/Action/ActionType') ActionType
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Instructions/Instruction/Actions/Action/What') What
, extractvalue(di_info,'/DI/Instructions/Instruction/Actions/Action/How') How