Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

XML Parsing error

Status
Not open for further replies.

CryoGen

MIS
Apr 15, 2004
US
OK, I'm fairly new to XML and FileMaker. I keep getting an error: "XML Parsing Error: The main document cannot be empty". I'm a little fuzzy on the syntax.

The import I'm trying to accomplish has three parts: the FMP database, an XML output file from a third-party program that churns out the file names in a given Windows XP directory, and an XSL stylesheet that is supposed to transform the XML file to a workable format.

To-Be-Imported XML File: xml_listing.xml

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE hdlg:filesystem SYSTEM "[URL unfurl="true"]http://www.hdlg.info/XML/filesystem.dtd">[/URL]
<hdlg:filesystem xmlns:hdlg="[URL unfurl="true"]http://www.hdlg.info/XML/filesystem">[/URL]
   <hdlg:folder name="pdfs" url="file:/c:/pdfs/">
      <hdlg:file name="FEB248.pdf" size="17407400" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB248.pdf">
      </hdlg:file>
      <hdlg:file name="FEB249.pdf" size="13918425" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB249.pdf">
      <hdlg:file name="FEB250.pdf" size="38914" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB250.pdf">
      <hdlg:file name="FEB251.pdf" size="21109720" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB251.pdf">
      <hdlg:file name="FEB252.pdf" size="35559" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB252.pdf">
      <hdlg:file name="FEB253.pdf" size="7288156" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB253.pdf">
      <hdlg:file name="FEB254.pdf" size="11409973" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/FEB254.pdf">
      <hdlg:file name="pdf_listing.html" size="7368" type="unknown" url="file:/c:/pdfs/pdf_listing.html">