Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

XML: how to combine two different codes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nate385

Technical User
Jul 22, 2013
CH
Hi!

I'm a kind of beginner with XML. Recently, I've downloaded a software (a sort of calendar), which enables to organize my everyday life. And you can customize it. All the codes must be opened with XML. Therefore, I use a very simple tool: Notepad. But I've been trying to change a specific thing for a while, but no results yet.

So, what I'd like to reach is to see my daily task appear in a specific color and when it is done, this very task has to be stricken through by itself.

But the problem is that by default this software or system gives me only either the color for my daily task and when it's completed, impossible to strike through, or one basic color for my task (white), and when it's completed, it is automatically stricken through.

I have either this: 1) or this: 2)
That's why I'd like to find out how to combine it to choose one specific color for each category and simultaneously to have it crossed out when the task is completed. Here is what I'd like to have: And this, for the same category.

Here is the code for 1):

Code:
</category>
<category id="Holidays">
      <appearance target="2" layer="0" priority="0" element="font.normal" color="color.holiday" effect="NORMAL" align="TOP-LEFT" indent="-10" />
      <appearance target="4" layer="0" priority="0" element="font.normal" color="color.holiday" effect="NORMAL" align="TOP-LEFT" padding="10,0,0,0" />
      <appearance target="16" layer="0" priority="0" element="font.bold" color="color.holiday" effect="NORMAL" align="TOP-LEFT" />