Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

WSL or Virtualization?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carlvic

MIS
Jun 15, 2017
AE
Hello,

I have basic knowledge on Linux system.
First I start with the ubuntu to know things and I also try some other linux system like arch already.

I have backup laptop to test linux system and windows os for daily use.

Now I only have one workstation which is laptop running on windows 10. But then I want to test linux system on my laptop while running windows 10.

My first option is to use VMWare to test since I have i7, 8gb ram , nvidia 940mx graphics and 1tb hdd.( I want to learn Kali)

While searching I found a article about WSL to run linux system on windows 10.

So I have another option to use Windows Subsystem for Linux. But while reading some article there's some environment restrictions on using WSL.

Anyone have suggestion for this?Tips

If you are using WSL, you need an X server like XMinG otherwise you won't be able to use any graphical applications. I have been using WSL for 5 months now: haven't found any restrictions yet.

Start xming, start wsl - you have a choice of Ubuntu or SuSE, modify your .profile Add

export DISPLAY=:0.0

exit WSL console. Start WSL console again. Check the value of $DISPLAY. It should be :0.0. You can run a simple gui test like xeyes. You can access the windows disk from /mnt/c and any USB device from /media/ . WSL is great for all sorts except playing with networks. If you wish to have different IP addresses and mess with Windows/Linux networks, use VMWare.