Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

WSH write Chinese to SQLServer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dexeloper

Programmer
Oct 26, 2004
GB
I have a WSH vbscript that reads one SQLServer table and writes to another. Just one nvarchar column per table. Some of the 'from' data is in Chinese and a wscript.echo shows the Chinese values fine. However, when I write to the second table Chinese characters come out as '???????'.
This is, essentially, the code:

Code:
set impConn = Wscript.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
call impConn.Open("Provider=SQLOLEDB;charset=utf8;Data Source=S1;database=SQLS;User ID=a;Password=b")
set impRS = Wscript.CreateObject("ADODB.RecordSet")

call impRS.Open("select * from T1", impConn)
while not impRS.eof
	wscript.echo(impRS("title"))
	impConn.execute("insert into T2 (title) values('" & impRS("title") & "')")
	call impRS.MoveNext()
wend
call impRS.Close()

Any ideas gratefully accepted

Why first pull the full data and then insert the only title field into a new table?
Anyway: I recommend you simply do a "Select Into" query and let SQLServer handle the Chinese.
;-)

“Knowledge is power. Information is liberating. Education is the premise of progress, in every society, in every family.” (Kofi Annan)
Oppose SOPA, PIPA, ACTA; measures to curb freedom of information under whatever name whatsoever.

What I've shown is just a cutdown of a much bigger script. The point, I think, is that the 'read' brings in the Chinese fine but the 'write' doesn't. If I run an 'insert select' in SQLServer query analyser it works fine.

What happens if you do, as I rather suspect VBA's string concatentation:

wscript.echo "insert into T2 (title) values('" & impRS("title") & "')"