Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Would like to learn design techinque

Status
Not open for further replies.

JSchumacher

Technical User
Jun 17, 2001
US
I have been working with Access for 2 years. I started with simple querys and macros and I now write most everything in code. I have very little programming training. I have designed 3 databases for my department in the last 6 months and they all work functionally.

However, I know they could be SO MUCH better. When I look at the first one compared with the 3rd, I have to laugh at what I did. I'm sure in a year from now I'll be laughing at what I'm doing now too.

What I would like is some ideas/guidance/hints on what resources are available that would give me a solid foundation in database creation from start to finish - books, websites, classes, whatever. I love programming and would like to develop my skills.

Thanks for any ideas,

Judie

Welcome to the club!
For developing/Programming Access, I highly recommend the Access 2000 Developer's Handbook 2 Volume Set by Paul Litwin, Ken Getz, & Mike Gilbert. Lots of good info in there. (There are also versions for Access 97 & 2002)
And bookmark the tek-tips site, too! There are many smart folks here to lend a hand :)

Thanks MisterC. I actually ordered that book yesterday. Other posts I've read gave it high marks. It's good to have feedback affirming my purchase. Will it help me learn how to design a database properly?

Yes, definitely. I think you will be pleased with your purchase. Good luck to you!