Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Word VBA: deployment

Status
Not open for further replies.

sharon3874

Programmer
Oct 27, 2006
US
I am new in VBA. I am sorry in advance if my question doesn't make sense.

I have a document with a button triggering a macro. I am just wondering how I deliver it to my users. I don't want my users to see the macro code, which I have already handled it with password protection.

My question is how I can prevent them from even switching to the design mode? Right now I can switch to the design mode by clicking View --> Toolbars --> Control Toolbox. I believe the user can do the same thing, right? So I am wondering normally how do you deploy a word doc with macro? Is there a special deployment process, or should I just write another macro(or any other way) to disable the "Control Toolbox" choice? If I need to disable the choice, how?

I will be really appreciated if you can advice. Thanks.

Thank you for your reply.

Actually, I want them to see the document, and also modify the document.

I have customized the shortcut menu(right-click menu) on hyperlinks(add and delete menu items during runtime). I am asking the question because if I switch to the design mode, and exit the design mode, the menu doesn't work properly. If I don't switch to the design mode ever, it works fine. Thus I am trying to prevent them from switching to the design mode.